You are here

Governance of the Academy

The President of Columbia University serves as President of the Academy; the post of Honorary President is held by the President of the Republic of Italy. The Chairman of the Board is the Provost of Columbia University. The Director is the Head of the Academy.

The Board of Guarantors, comprised of 12 distinguished representatives of Italian and American cultural, academic and business life, is selected by Columbia University and by the Government of Italy; it advises the Director on the management of the Academy.


Honorary President of the Academy
Sergio Mattarella, President of the Italian Republic

President of the Academy
Lee C. Bollinger, President of Columbia University

Chairman of the Board of Guarantors
John H. Coatsworth, Provost of Columbia University

Director of the Academy
David Freedberg, Pierre Matisse Professor of the History of Art at Columbia University

Board of Guarantors

Guarantors of the Italian Academy should be contacted through their home institutions only, not via the Academy. (Please click on names for an extended biography.)

Mark Anderson, Professor of German, Columbia University
Claudio Bisogniero, Ambassador of Italy to the United States
Jonathan Cole, Provost and Dean of Faculties Emeritus; John Mitchell Mason Professor of the University, Columbia University
Ira Katznelson, Ruggles Professor of Political Science and History, Columbia University
Mark A. Mazower, Ira D. Wallach Professor of History; Director, Heyman Center for the Humanities, Columbia University
Otto Naumann, President, Otto Naumann, Ltd.
Katharina Pistor, Michael I. Sovern Professor of Law, Columbia University
Umberto Vattani, President of Venice International University

Senior Fellows

Qais al-Awqati, Robert F. Loeb Professor of Medicine and Professor of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics at Columbia University
Enrico Arbarello, Ordinario di Geometria, Università degli Studi di Roma “La Sapienza”, Roma
Richard Axel, Nobel Laureate and University Professor, Columbia University
Teodolinda Barolini, Da Ponte Professor of Italian, Columbia University
Lina Bolzoni, Ordinario di Letteratura Italiana, Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa
Maria Luisa Catoni, Professor in Ancient Art History and Archaeology, IMT Institute for Advanced Studies Lucca
Victoria de Grazia, Moore Collegiate Professor of History, Columbia University
Paolo Galluzzi, Direttore dell’Istituto e Museo di Storia della Scienza, Firenze
Carlo Ginzburg, Ordinario di storia delle culture europee, Scuola Normale Superiore, Pisa
Anthony Grafton, Henry Putnam University Professor of History, Princeton University
Denis Hollier, Professor of French at New York University
Eric Kandel, Nobel Laureate and University Professor, Columbia University
Francesco Pellizzi, Editor of Res and Research Associate in Middle American Ethnology at the Peabody Museum at Harvard University
Edmund S. Phelps, Nobel Laureate and McVickar Professor of Political Economy, Columbia University
Renzo Piano, Renzo Piano Building Workshop, Genoa and Paris
Giacomo Rizzolatti, Direttore del Dipartimento di Neuroscienze ed ordinario di Fisiologia, Università di Parma
Salvatore Settis, Direttore della Scuola Normale Superiore ed ordinario di Storia dell’arte, Pisa
Horst L. Störmer, Nobel Laureate and I. I. Rabi Professor of Physics, Columbia University
Nadia Urbinati, Kyriakos Tsakopoulos Professor of Political Theory and Hellenic Studies, Columbia University
Marina Warner, CBE, Professor in the Department of Literature, Film and Theater Studies, University of Essex

Honorary Fellows

Daniele Bodini, Ambassador to the United Nations for the Republic of San Marino

Ambassador Bodini was named as the first Honorary Fellow in 2013, after he served for a decade as a distinguished Guarantor on the Board, appointed by the President of Columbia University. His support of the Italian Academy extended to the generous granting of fellowships.